1. Home

Car Insurance in Arkansas (Updated May 2024)

Compare Arkansas car insurance quotes with EverQuote and get your own personalized recommendations

Save hundreds today by comparing quotes from the nation’s top insurance companies

shield No junk mail. Instant results. Always free.

ProgressiveLiberty MutualRoot
The GeneralAmerican FamilyElephant

✅ Why you can trust EverQuote - EverQuote powers millions of shopper requests every month, teaming up with industry-leading insurance specialists to address real-world challenges faced by people every day. We partner with the largest insurance providers in the nation, and our content is carefully crafted by experts and reviewed by licensed insurance agents for accuracy and relevance. 

Arkansas Car Insurance Quotes

Car insurance costs are up 22% from a year ago, with some states seeing even higher increases than others. Looking at Arkansas however, drivers are paying 15% less for car insurance than the national average, with Full Coverage costing Arkansas drivers an average of $160 per month

Similar to other states, the rates in Arkansas can vary widely by specific cities and zip codes as accident rates, car-related crime, and even weather can have significant influence over a driver's risk profile. Of course, a driver's profile also impacts the total cost of coverage, with age, driving history, and even credit score being some of the major factors evaluated by insurance providers. 

We partner with insurance experts to analyze millions of data points and get you the best car insurance in Arkansas. Read on to learn more about properly insuring your car in Arkansas. 

If you're ready for personalized recommendations, submit your ZIP code above and compare options instantly - absolutely free. 


Arkansas Car Insurance Laws

Like most states, Arkansas requires drivers to have car insurance with minimum liability coverage. The state enforces the most commonly seen U.S. coverage minimums with a 25/50/25 policy:

Arkansas’s car insurance minimums are:

  • $25,000 for the bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for the bodily injury of two or more people
  • $25,000 for property damage

Proof of Insurance

The financial penalties for uninsured driving in Arkansas range from $50 to $1,000, but you may also face license suspension or jail time. If you’re in an accident without insurance, you could be personally liable for any resulting damages. 

Arkansas has no insurance grade period after buying a new car. ” 


Arkansas is an at-fault state regarding liability for car accidents, meaning the at-fault driver’s insurance will cover the damages. However, if you are found partially at fault for an accident, your percentage of fault will be deducted from any settlement you receive. This is known as comparative negligence.

The state requires you to have insurance at all times and provide proof of insurance when registering your vehicle or if requested by law enforcement. Arkansas has no insurance grace period after buying a new car. However, most insurance companies allow a grace period between seven and 30 days that extends coverage to a new vehicle if it’s replacing an existing one on the policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the quickest way to reduce my insurance premium in Arkansas?
The quickest and easiest way to reduce your insurance premium is to take advantage of discounts related to your account setup. Depending on the insurance provider, setting up Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), signing up for Paperless billing, and paying your policy in-full can reduce your cost by 4% to 9% instantly.
What is the most common insurance discount in Arkansas?
The most common insurance discount is signing up for Paperless billing. We have seen discounts range from 3% up to 11% depending on the policy. It is important to note that not all carriers offer this discount and those that do might have rules of when it can be applied (usually around the start of your policy term).
How much will I save switching insurance providers in Arkansas?
How much you can save by switching carriers can vary widely by location, time of year, and your driving record. While some carriers offer a median discount of 6 - 7% for policy renewals, recent research suggests that you can save anywhere between 10 - 20% by switching to a new carrier. The best way to secure the highest savings on your policy is by shopping often and connecting with a licensed agent.


🔍 Auto Insurance Methodology - Premiums are sourced from over 30,000 zip codes across 200 insurance companies. We estimate premiums based on policies seeking 50/100 in liability with $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage. Rates are based a 35-year-old single female with a good credit score and no history of accidents or violations driving a 2023 Toyota RAV4 LE. We assume no unique benefits or discounts are applied for these rates. Your own rates may be different.