1. Home
  2. florida

List of Car Insurance Companies in Florida

Save hundreds today by comparing quotes from the nation’s top insurance companies

shield No junk mail. Instant results. Always free.

ProgressiveLiberty MutualRoot
The GeneralAmerican FamilyElephant

Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes

There are many car insurance companies in Florida competing for business. Here are the largest, ranked by market share in the state. 

Car insurance companies in Florida

Rank Company Market share in Florida Website
1 Progressive 18.33% https://www.progressive.com/
2 State Farm 14.74% https://www.statefarm.com/
3 Allstate Corp. 9.28% http://www.allstate.com/
4USAA 7.07% https://www.usaa.com/
5 Liberty Mutual 3.05% https://www.libertymutual.com/
6 Travelers 2.19% https://www.travelers.com/
7National General Holdings Corp. 1.98% http://www.nationalgeneral.com/
8Kemper 1.78% http://www.kemper.com
9 Auto-Owners Insurance 1.69% http://www.auto-owners.com/
10Farmers Insurance 1.68% https://www.farmers.com/
11 Windhaven Insurance Co. 1.47% http://www.windhaveninsurance.com/
12 United Automobile Insurance Co. 1.02% https://www.uaig.net/
13 The Hartford 1.00% http://www.thehartford.com/
14 Ocean Harbor Insurance 0.99% http://www.oceanharbor-ins.com/
15 Southern Farm Bureau Casualty 0.87% https://floridafarmbureau.com/
16 MetLife 0.75% https://www.metlife.com/
17 Mercury Insurance 0.62% https://www.mercuryinsurance.com/
18 Auto Club Insurance Association 0.61% https://www.aaa.com/
19Sentry 0.57% http://www.sentry.com
20 Amica 0.52% https://www.amica.com/
21 Chubb 0.45% https://www.chubb.com
22 American Family Insurance 0.43% https://www.amfam.com/
23 Nationwide 0.42% https://www.nationwide.com/
24 Auto Club South Insurance Co. 0.33% https://www.autoclubfl.com/
25 MGA Insurance Co. 0.27% https://www.gainsco.com/
26 AIG 0.26% http://www.aig.com/
27 Home State Insurance Group Inc. 0.19% http://public.equityins.net
28 Markel 0.18% http://www.markelcorp.com/
29Star Casualty Insurance Co. 0.18% http://www.starcasualty.com/
30 Tiptree Inc. 0.18% http://www.tiptreeinc.com/
31 First Acceptance 0.17% https://www.acceptanceinsurance.com/
32 PURE 0.16% https://www.pureinsurance.com/
33 AssuranceAmerica 0.16% http://www.assuranceamerica.com/
34 Premier Holdings, LLC 0.15% https://www.mendota-insurance.com/
35 Windhaven National Insurance Co. 0.14% https://windhaven.com/
36 Horace Mann 0.14% http://www.horacemann.com/
37 Responsive Auto Insurance Co. 0.14% http://responsiveauto.com/
38Ameriprise Financial 0.12% https://www.ameriprise.com/
39Aventus Insurance Co. 0.10% https://www.wellingtoninsgroup.com/
40 MAPFRE 0.10% https://www.mapfreinsurance.com/
41 General Electric Co. 0.05% https://eic.electricinsurance.com/
42 Global Indemnity 0.04% https://global-indemnity.com/united-nat
43 Munich Re 0.03% https://www.munichre.com/en/homepage/index.html
44 The Cincinnati Insurance Cos. 0.03% https://www.cinfin.com/
45 WT Holdings Inc. 0.03% https://stillwaterinsurance.com/main
46 California Casualty 0.03% https://www.calcas.com/
47 Tokio Marine 0.03% https://www.phly.com
48 Assurant 0.02% https://www.assurant.com/
49Peachtree Casualty Insurance Co. 0.01% n/a
Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence, based on private passenger auto insurance market share in 2018.

Updated May 22, 2019.

Insurance company reviews

Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes