1. Home

Car Insurance in Kansas (Updated May 2024)

Compare Kansas car insurance quotes with EverQuote and get your own personalized recommendations

Save hundreds today by comparing quotes from the nation’s top insurance companies

shield No junk mail. Instant results. Always free.

ProgressiveLiberty MutualRoot
The GeneralAmerican FamilyElephant

✅ Why you can trust EverQuote - EverQuote powers millions of shopper requests every month, teaming up with industry-leading insurance specialists to address real-world challenges faced by people every day. We partner with the largest insurance providers in the nation, and our content is carefully crafted by experts and reviewed by licensed insurance agents for accuracy and relevance. 

Kansas Car Insurance Quotes

Car insurance costs are up 22% from a year ago, with some states seeing even higher increases than others. Looking at Kansas however, drivers are paying 5% less for car insurance than the national average, with Full Coverage costing Kansas drivers an average of $179 per month

Similar to other states, the rates in Kansas can vary widely by specific cities and zip codes as accident rates, car-related crime, and even weather can have significant influence over a driver's risk profile. Of course, a driver's profile also impacts the total cost of coverage, with age, driving history, and even credit score being some of the major factors evaluated by insurance providers. 

We partner with insurance experts to analyze millions of data points and get you the best car insurance in Kansas. Read on to learn more about properly insuring your car in Kansas. 

If you're ready for personalized recommendations, submit your ZIP code above and compare options instantly - absolutely free. 


Kansas Car Insurance Laws

Kansas car insurance minimums are more extensive than some other states. In addition to minimum liability, drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured or underinsured coverage.

Kansas’s car insurance minimums

Liability Coverage Requirements:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP):

  • $4,500 per person for medical costs
  • $900 per month for one year of disability or loss of income
  • $25 per day for in-home medical services
  • $2,000 for funeral or burial expenses
  • $4,500 for physical rehabilitation

PIP coverage must include survivor benefits for disability or loss of income of at least $900 for one year and in-home care services of $25 per day.

Uninsured/Underinsured:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per accident

Proof of Insurance

There is no Kansas new car insurance grace period written into law. ” 


Driving without insurance in Kansas can result in a class B misdemeanor charge, a fine between $300 and $1,000, and up to six months in county jail. A second violation within three years of the initial conviction may result in a class A misdemeanor charge and a fine between $800 and $2,500. Kansas courts may also suspend the at-fault individual's driver's license. 

There is no Kansas new car insurance grace period written into law. If you buy a new vehicle, add it to your policy according to the insurer's requirements. .

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the quickest way to reduce my insurance premium in Kansas?
The quickest and easiest way to reduce your insurance premium is to take advantage of discounts related to your account setup. Depending on the insurance provider, setting up Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), signing up for Paperless billing, and paying your policy in-full can reduce your cost by 4% to 9% instantly.
What is the most common insurance discount in Kansas?
The most common insurance discount is signing up for Paperless billing. We have seen discounts range from 3% up to 11% depending on the policy. It is important to note that not all carriers offer this discount and those that do might have rules of when it can be applied (usually around the start of your policy term).
How much will I save switching insurance providers in Kansas?
How much you can save by switching carriers can vary widely by location, time of year, and your driving record. While some carriers offer a median discount of 6 - 7% for policy renewals, recent research suggests that you can save anywhere between 10 - 20% by switching to a new carrier. The best way to secure the highest savings on your policy is by shopping often and connecting with a licensed agent.


🔍 Auto Insurance Methodology - Premiums are sourced from over 30,000 zip codes across 200 insurance companies. We estimate premiums based on policies seeking 50/100 in liability with $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage. Rates are based a 35-year-old single female with a good credit score and no history of accidents or violations driving a 2023 Toyota RAV4 LE. We assume no unique benefits or discounts are applied for these rates. Your own rates may be different.