Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Car insurance minimums in Minnesota
Liability car insurance is for damage you do to others, such as car dents and injuries. It won't cover your own car or your medical bills from a car accident.
Minimum liability insurance in Minnesota:
- $30,000 bodily injury per person
- $60,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage per accident
This is often written as 30/60/10.
Minimum uninsured (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage:
- Minnesota requires both UM and UIM. These coverage types pay medical bills if you or your passengers are injured by a driver with no car insurance, or not enough. Drivers must have UM and UIM with limits of $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident (known as 25/50).
No-fault insurance in Minnesota
Minnesota has a no-fault insurance system. That means you make small injury claims on your own policy, no matter who was at fault. Personal injury protection (PIP) pays these claims.
Minnesota drivers must buy $40,000 in PIP. This includes $20,000 for medical costs and $20,000 for non-medical costs, such as lost wages if you can't work due to an accident. In Minnesota, PIP also pays up to $2,000 for funeral expenses.
More: No-fault insurance
Optional car insurance in Minnesota
Comprehensive coverage: Covers theft of your vehicle or damage from hitting an animal, hail, flood, fire, vandalism, falling objects and explosions.
Collision coverage: Covers damage to your vehicle from hitting another car or an object, like a tree or post.
Rental reimbursement: Covers a rental car if your vehicle is being repaired after a car accident. It is not the same as "rental car coverage," which you'd buy to rent a car on vacation, for example.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Minnesota when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
Penalties for not having auto insurance in Minnesota
- Misdemeanor: not more than 90 days in jail and/or fine of $200 to $1,000.
- If convicted of violation within 10 years of first of two prior convictions, guilty of a gross misdemeanor: not more than one year in jail and/or fine of $200 to $3,000.
- Civil penalties include suspension to license and registration for up to one year.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Auto insurance complaints
Each state's department of insurance handles complaints against insurance companies from state residents. Below are national complaint ratios for the largest auto insurance companies in Minnesota. The ratio shows the level of complaints in comparison to the insurer's size.
Updated June 13, 2018
Find a Minnesota auto insurance agent
Andover Car Insurance | Austin Car Insurance | Champlin Car Insurance | Chanhassen Car Insurance | Chaska Car Insurance | Cottage Grove Car Insurance | Burnsville Car Insurance | Duluth Car Insurance | Eden Prairie Car Insurance | Lakeville Car Insurance | Mankato Car Insurance | Minneapolis Car Insurance | Minnetonka Car Insurance | Rochester Car Insurance | St. Cloud Car Insurance | St. Paul Car Insurance | Elk River Car Insurance | Faribault Car Insurance | Farmington Car Insurance | Forest Lake Car Insurance | Hastings Car Insurance | Inver Grove Heights Car Insurance | Moorhead Car Insurance | Northfield Car Insurance | Owatonna Car Insurance | Prior Lake Car Insurance | Rosemount Car Insurance | Savage Car Insurance | Shakopee Car Insurance | South St. Paul Car Insurance | Stillwater Car Insurance | Willmar Car Insurance | Winona Car Insurance