New Resident - You have 30 days from the date you move to this state to register your motor vehicle, tractor, motorcycle or trailer and get a New York license plate. Register your vehicle at your local DMV.
New York Resident - You have 30 days from the date of purchase or acquisition of a motor vehicle, tractor, motorcycle, or trailer to register. You should register your vehicle at the DMV where you live.
Penalties - If you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days from the purchase or acquisition date of the vehicle, you may be subject to fines if law enforcement pull you over.
Before You Register:
You need the following before you can register your vehicle:
- Original title
- Proof of auto insurance (current NYS Insurance ID card).
- Bill of Sale
- NYS driver's license
- A vehicle safety inspection. Note: you'll need to show your auto insurance proof at the inspection station.
- Proof that you own the vehicle such as previous registration or title from another state
- A complete MV-82 Vehicle Registration Application.
Where Do You Register Your Vehicle?
You may register your vehicle at your local DMV closest to where you live. Bring the information described and forms described in the previous section. Also be prepared to pay a fee based on vehicle weight, where you live, sales tax, and a title certificate fee. The total is typically around $75.
You should receive license plates, formal registration form, and a vehicle registration sticker from the DMV office. If your car was not inspected by a NYS dealer, you'll also receive an inspection extension sticker valid for 10 days following your registration date.
Which Vehicles Are Exempt from Registration in New York?
In New York, most vehicles require some form of registration, but may not require titles or fees. Here are some highlights.
- Motorized scooters, mini-bikes, dirt bikes, and Go-Karts are not allowed on New York highways, roads, or sidewalks, and therefore, do not require a title. They can only be used off of the roads.
- Trailers - If heavier than 1000 lbs, it must be titled.
- Scooters and Mopeds - They must be registered and titled with the New York DMV, and will be classified based on top speed. Registration fees vary, but all that are capable of more than 20mph must have insurance.