1. Home

Car Insurance in North Carolina (Updated May 2024)

Compare North Carolina car insurance quotes with EverQuote and get your own personalized recommendations

Save hundreds today by comparing quotes from the nation’s top insurance companies

shield No junk mail. Instant results. Always free.

ProgressiveLiberty MutualRoot
The GeneralAmerican FamilyElephant

✅ Why you can trust EverQuote - EverQuote powers millions of shopper requests every month, teaming up with industry-leading insurance specialists to address real-world challenges faced by people every day. We partner with the largest insurance providers in the nation, and our content is carefully crafted by experts and reviewed by licensed insurance agents for accuracy and relevance. 

North Carolina Car Insurance Quotes

Car insurance costs are up 22% from a year ago, with some states seeing even higher increases than others. Looking at North Carolina however, drivers are paying 36% less for car insurance than the national average, with Full Coverage costing North Carolina drivers an average of $121 per month

Similar to other states, the rates in North Carolina can vary widely by specific cities and zip codes as accident rates, car-related crime, and even weather can have significant influence over a driver's risk profile. Of course, a driver's profile also impacts the total cost of coverage, with age, driving history, and even credit score being some of the major factors evaluated by insurance providers. 

We partner with insurance experts to analyze millions of data points and get you the best car insurance in North Carolina. Read on to learn more about properly insuring your car in North Carolina. 

If you're ready for personalized recommendations, submit your ZIP code above and compare options instantly - absolutely free. 


North Carolina Car Insurance Laws

Under North Carolina car insurance laws, you must show proof of coverage if law enforcement stops you. The state follows a system called “fault” or “at-fault,” where if you cause an accident, your insurance is responsible for covering the resulting damages. 

North Carolina’s car insurance minimums are:

North Carolina car insurance requirements follow a 30/60/25, where your coverage must pay up to:

  • Injury liability insurance of $30,000 per person
  • Injury liability insurance of $60,000 per accident 
  • Damaged property liability insurance of $25,000

Proof of Insurance

“ there isn't a specific grace period outlined in North Carolina state law. ” 


Driving without proof of insurance in North Carolina can result in:

  • A first insurance lapse fee of $50
  • A second insurance lapse fee of $100
  • A $150 fee for subsequent lapses 
  • A $50 restoration fee to relicense the vehicle
  • North Carolina new car insurance grace period

While there isn’t a specific grace period outlined in North Carolina state law, arrange insurance before or immediately after purchasing a vehicle to ensure legal compliance and protect yourself from potential liabilities. Work with your insurance provider to update your policy or buy new coverage for the new vehicle for a smooth transition and peace of mind on the road.

Additional Coverage in North Carolina

It is advised that your car insurance should also cover uninsured motorist property damage and underinsured motorist bodily injury up to $25,000 and $30,000 per person and $60,000 for injury liability per accident, respectively. 

Additional optional coverages to consider include: gap coverage, roadside assistance, comprehensive coverage, and medical payments.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the quickest way to reduce my insurance premium in North Carolina?
The quickest and easiest way to reduce your insurance premium is to take advantage of discounts related to your account setup. Depending on the insurance provider, setting up Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), signing up for Paperless billing, and paying your policy in-full can reduce your cost by 4% to 9% instantly.
What is the most common insurance discount in North Carolina?
The most common insurance discount is signing up for Paperless billing. We have seen discounts range from 3% up to 11% depending on the policy. It is important to note that not all carriers offer this discount and those that do might have rules of when it can be applied (usually around the start of your policy term).
How much will I save switching insurance providers in North Carolina?
How much you can save by switching carriers can vary widely by location, time of year, and your driving record. While some carriers offer a median discount of 6 - 7% for policy renewals, recent research suggests that you can save anywhere between 10 - 20% by switching to a new carrier. The best way to secure the highest savings on your policy is by shopping often and connecting with a licensed agent.


🔍 Auto Insurance Methodology - Premiums are sourced from over 30,000 zip codes across 200 insurance companies. We estimate premiums based on policies seeking 50/100 in liability with $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage. Rates are based a 35-year-old single female with a good credit score and no history of accidents or violations driving a 2023 Toyota RAV4 LE. We assume no unique benefits or discounts are applied for these rates. Your own rates may be different.