When purchasing a new or used car in Texas it is important to understand the different kinds of fees that you may be required to pay.  Some are required by the state and some by your dealer or others and some you may choose to pay.

Here are typical fees:

DMV or State Fees
  Title Transfer Fee Usually $23.00 or $28.00 Dependent on the county you live in.
  Tag / License Fee

$54.00 - base fee
$13.50 - local fee

  Transfer Registration Fee $2.50  
  Sales Tax 6 1/4 % of sales price

less credit for taxes paid to another state if the vehicle was purchased from out-of-state.

If purchased from a private-party, 

  New Residents $90 This is imposed on a vehicle brought into the state by a new resident that was previously registered in the resident's name in another state or foreign country. There is no sales tax.
  Emissons Fee 2.5% or 1% For Diesel Vehicles > 14,000 lbs.  2.5% if vehicle is older than 1997 and 1% if 1997 or newer.
  Gift Tax $10 Motor vehicle transferred to special eligible relatives or organizations.  Refer to the Gift Transfer Form for more details.
Dealership Fees
  Documentation Fees No specific limit. Charged to cover administrative costs of the dealer related to the title, registration and other paperwork. Find out the fee early in the buying process since it may be significant.  By Georgia Law, these fees are required to be part of the advertised purchase price.
  Trade-in Fees Negotiable  
  Warranty Fees   Usually a basic warranty comes with the purchase of your vehicle. Your dealership may encourage you to buy extended warranties.
  Credit Insurance Fees    
  Advertising Fees Negotiable Check your invoice to see if your dealer is adding on fees related to their advertising. Usually, you can negotiate these down or completely out.
  Vehicle History Report Fees Depends It is highly recommended to get a history report when purchasing a used car. If your dealer doesn't provide this for you, there are plenty of private firms that you can use. Refer to Vehicle History Reports for more information.
  Private Sales Fees    
  Pre-sale inspection Depends A Pre-sale inspection is often done when purchasing a used car.  The purchaser is usually responsible for these fees.  However, they may be well worth it if they uncover flaws that discourage you from buying the car.