1. Home

Car Insurance in Utah

Compare Utah car insurance quotes with EverQuote and get your own personalized recommendations

Save hundreds today by comparing quotes from the nation’s top insurance companies

shield No junk mail. Instant results. Always free.

ProgressiveLiberty MutualRoot
The GeneralAmerican FamilyElephant

✅ Why you can trust EverQuote - EverQuote powers millions of shopper requests every month, teaming up with industry-leading insurance specialists to address real-world challenges faced by people every day. We partner with the largest insurance providers in the nation, and our content is carefully crafted by experts and reviewed by licensed insurance agents for accuracy and relevance. 

Utah Car Insurance Quotes

On average, U.S. citizens pay $189 per month for auto insurance. Utah residents pay a lower monthly average of $172. Apart from Salt Lake City, suburban and rural areas make up most of the state. These low-population areas have less traffic congestion and accidents, lowering premiums.

Read on to learn more about properly insuring your car in Utah. 

If you're ready for personalized recommendations, submit your ZIP code above and compare options instantly - absolutely free. 


Utah Car Insurance Laws

Utah’s car insurance laws require drivers to hold a liability coverage policy if they’re state residents or are physically present within Utah for at least 90 days within a 365-day window. 

Utah’s car insurance minimums are:

Anyone who owns, registers, or drives a vehicle in Utah must have car insurance that meets the following requirements:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
  • $65,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in an accident
  • $15,000 for property damage arising from a single collision
  • $80,000 for bodily injury or property damage from an individual accident

Utah’s car insurance minimums are slightly higher than those in other states.

Consumers who purchase a vehicle using a loan may need to acquire additional insurance as stipulated in their contract. Lenders may require comprehensive and collision insurance as security against the vehicle until you have repaid the loan.

Cheapest Insurance in Utah

EverQuote examines various factors that influence the cost of car coverage. Factors like car model, driver age, coverage type, and available discounts all impact the premium price. 

We partner with insurance experts to analyze millions of data points and get you the best car insurance in Utah. 

Rank Insurance company Average monthly premium
1 Nationwide $89
2 GEICO $106
3 USAA $112
4 Auto Owners $130
5 Progressive $141
Avg. monthly premiums are weighted by zip code population sizes

Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes

Proof of Insurance

“ driving without insurance ... leads to automatic suspension of driver's license privileges ” 


Individuals caught driving without insurance in Utah may receive a Class B misdemeanor, which includes a minimum $400 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses within the next three years increase the fine to $1,000. A conviction for driving without insurance also leads to automatic suspension of driver’s license privileges, which continues until the driver submits proof of coverage and pays a reinstatement fee of $100.

Utah doesn’t provide a new car insurance grace period, so obtain proper coverage before driving your vehicle.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the quickest way to reduce my insurance premium in Utah?
The quickest and easiest way to reduce your insurance premium is to take advantage of discounts related to your account setup. Depending on the insurance provider, setting up Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), signing up for Paperless billing, and paying your policy in-full can reduce your cost by 4% to 9% instantly.
What is the most common insurance discount in Utah?
The most common insurance discount is signing up for Paperless billing. We have seen discounts range from 3% up to 11% depending on the policy. It is important to note that not all carriers offer this discount and those that do might have rules of when it can be applied (usually around the start of your policy term).
How much will I save switching insurance providers in Utah?
How much you can save by switching carriers can vary widely by location, time of year, and your driving record. While some carriers offer a median discount of 6 - 7% for policy renewals, recent research suggests that you can save anywhere between 10 - 20% by switching to a new carrier. The best way to secure the highest savings on your policy is by shopping often and connecting with a licensed agent.


🔍 Auto Insurance Methodology - Premiums are sourced from over 30,000 zip codes across 200 insurance companies. We estimate premiums based on policies seeking 50/100 in liability with $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage. Rates are based a 35-year-old single female with a good credit score and no history of accidents or violations driving a 2023 Toyota RAV4 LE. We assume no unique benefits or discounts are applied for these rates. Your own rates may be different.