Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
General Vermont Insurance Guidelines
Vermont currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle. Vermont drivers are required to show their insurance info when requested by an officer.
Minimum Liability Coverage in Vermont
Vermont's minimum liability amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 total property damage per accident.
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
More: Compare car insurance
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in Vermont are:
- You will be given 20 days to provide proof before being subjected to penalties
- If you are caught without auto insurance, you will receive a ticket, be charged a $100 fine, and have two points added to your license
- Another consequence of being uninsured is that you will be required to file proof of Financial Responsibility Insurance with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
- In addition to the penalties mentioned above, your license will be revoked by the Vermont Commissioner of Motor Vehicles if you are driving uninsured while in one of the following situations: when involved in an accident, fleeing a collision, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, driving a car without the consent of the car's owner, driving while your license is suspended or when it has already been revoked, or while driving in a reckless manner that results in the death of another person
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Vermont requires UM/UIM coverage. The minimum UM/UIM coverage amounts for Vermont are $50,000 bodily injury protection per person, $100,000 bodily injury protection per accident, $10,000 property damage protection per claim.
Some states have no-fault insurance laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Vermont is not a no-fault state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Vermont does not require drivers to purchase PIP insurance.
More: Types of auto insurance
SR-22 Requirements for Vermont
An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Vermont requires an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
Vermont DUI Laws
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver's licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for Vermont are:
- Up to 2 years imprisonment
- Up to $750 fine
- 90-day license suspension
- Minimum $160 DUI surcharge
- Alcohol and driving education program
- Treatment assessment
- Therapy program
More: DUI auto insurance
Additional Information on Insurance for Vermont
For more information, please contact Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration: 1-802-828-3301 or visit their website at vermont.gov.
Be the best driver in Vermont: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!
Jericho Car Insurance | Lyndon Car Insurance | Middlebury Car Insurance | Milton Car Insurance | Newport Car Insurance | Northfield Car Insurance | Shelburne Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | St. Albans Car Insurance | St. Johnsbury Car Insurance | Swanton Car Insurance | Vergennes Car Insurance | Williston Car Insurance | Winooski Car Insurance