Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Wisconsin auto insurance requirements
Car owners in Wisconsin must buy two types of auto insurance for their vehicles: Liability and uninsured motorist coverage. But you may want more insurance than what the state requires. Let's look at the options in Wisconsin so you can choose the right insurance for you.
Minimum liability insurance:
Liability insurance is required in Wisconsin. It pays others for damage and injuries you cause in an accident. If you buy only a low level of coverage, you could find yourself being sued for what your insurance doesn't pay for. The minimum Wisconsin liability coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 property damage per accident.
This is often written as 25/50/10.
Minimum uninsured motorist (UM) coverage:
If you're hit by a driver who has no liability insurance, you can make a claim under your UM coverage for medical bills. Let's sort out the options:
- Wisconsin required UM coverage of at least $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident (25/50).
- Auto insurers in Wisconsin must offer underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage but you can reject it. UIM is for your medical bills if an at-fault driver has some insurance but not enough.
- If you buy UIM in Wisconsin you must have limits of at least $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
MedPay covers medical and funeral expenses for anyone injured or killed while driving or riding in your car. It also covers you if you're a pedestrian and struck by a car.
- Wisconsin auto insurers must offer you MedPay but you can reject it.
- If you buy MedPay, the minimum coverage amount is $1,000.
Comprehensive and collision coverage
These aren't required by the state, but you're probably are required to have them if you have a car loan or lease. Lenders and leasing companies can mandate collision and comprehensive insurance.
- Comprehensive: Covers car theft, damage caused by hitting an animal, and damage from flood, hail, fire, vandalism, falling objects and explosions.
- Collision coverage: Covers your car's damage from hitting another car or an object, like a sign post.
Pays for a rental car if your vehicle is being repaired after a car accident.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Wisconsin when:
- Law enforcement requests it.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Wisconsin
- Fine up to $5,000 for operating without proof of financial responsibility.
- Fine up to $5,000 for producing fraudulent proof of insurance or other financial responsibility.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Complaints against the biggest auto insurance companies in Wisconsin
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners creates a "complaint ratio" to show the number of complaints against a company relative to the insurer's size of business nationwide. Shown below are complaint ratios for the largest car insurance companies in Wisconsin.
Updated Aug. 15, 2018