Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Required car insurance in New Mexico
Compared to most other states, New Mexico doesn't require drivers to buy a lot of car insurance -- only liability insurance. But there are other coverage types you may wish to have as a financial safety net in case of the car accident. Let's take a look at what's available to New Mexico drivers.
Minimum liability insurance in New Mexico:
Liability car insurance is for the damage and injuries you cause others in a car accident. The state minimum is what's required to legally drive. You may want more, so that you have enough insurance in case you cause a large accident.
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage per accident
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) when:
- Law enforcement requests it.
Penalty for not having car insurance in New Mexico
- Misdemeanor: fine not to exceed $300 and suspension of registration.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Updated Aug. 27, 2019