Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Required car insurance in Oklahoma
Oklahoma requires only one type of auto insurance: Liability. But many drivers need more coverage in case there's an accident.
Other auto insurance
Medical payments (MedPay): For medical or funeral expenses for you and your passengers from a crash, no matter who was at fault.
Comprehensive coverage: For theft of your vehicle or damage caused by hail, flood, fire, vandalism, falling objects, explosions and hitting an animal.
Collision coverage: For damage to your vehicle caused by hitting another car or an object, like a tree.
Rental reimbursement: For a rental car if your vehicle is being repaired due to an accident.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration.
Penalty for not having car insurance in Oklahoma
Failure to comply with Oklahoma's compulsory insurance law or failure to show a security verification form is a misdemeanor. This is punishable by a fine of not more than $250 and/or no more than 30 days in jail. There is suspension of driving privileges until payment of a reinstatement fee and proof of security is furnished. If you can comply with state law through the online verification system, there's no violation and no citation issued.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Updated Sept. 3, 2019