If you're looking for commercial vehicle insurance, there are dozens of companies competing for your business. The largest commercial auto insurance companies are Progressive, Travelers and Liberty Mutual. If you're looking for a good price for insuring your business vehicles, it's wise to get quotes from multiple companies. Prices will vary for the same coverage from different insurers.

Here are the top 50 sellers in the U.S.

Biggest commercial auto insurance companies

Rank Company Market share % Website
1 Progressive 8.8 https://www.progressivecommercial.com/
2 Travelers Companies Inc. 6.27 http://www.travelers.com/
3 Liberty Mutual 4.8 http://www.libertymutual.com/
4 Zurich 4.68 http://www.zurichna.com/
5 Nationwide Mutual Group 4.65 http://www.nationwide.com/
6 Old Republic International Corp. 3.54 http://www.oldrepublic.com/
7 Berkshire Hathaway Inc. 3.28 https://www.geico.com/business-insurance/
8 Auto-Owners Insurance 2.36 http://www.auto-owners.com/
9 Chubb 2.29 https://www2.chubb.com/
10 AmTrust Financial Services 2 https://amtrustfinancial.com/
11 Tokio Marine 1.99 https://www.phly.com/
12 American International Group 1.85 http://www.aig.com/
13 Cincinnati Financial Corp. 1.81 http://www.cinfin.com/
14 American Financial Group Inc. 1.66 http://www.afginc.com/
15 State Farm 1.63 https://www.statefarm.com/
16 Hartford Financial Services 1.56 http://www.thehartford.com/
17 W. R. Berkley Corp. 1.52 http://www.wrberkley.com/
18 Erie Insurance 1.43 http://www.erieinsurance.com/
19 Markel Corp. 1.37 http://www.markelcorp.com/
20 Selective Insurance Group Inc. 1.35 http://www.selective.com/
21 Sentry Insurance a Mutual Co. 1.21 https://www.sentry.com/
22 Fairfax Financial 1.2 http://www.odysseyre.com/
23 EMC Insurance Companies 1.16 http://www.emcins.com/
24 National General Holdings Corp 1.03 http://www.nationalgeneral.com/
25 Allstate Corp. 1.03 http://www.allstate.com/
26 CNA Financial Corp. 1.03 https://www.cna.com/
27 Farmers Insurance Group of Cos. 1 https://www.farmers.com/
28 Federated Mutual 0.96 https://www.federatedinsurance.com/
29 ACUITY A Mutual Insurance Co. 0.96 https://www.acuity.com/
30 Hanover Insurance Group Inc. 0.95 http://www.hanover.com/
31 American Transit Insurance Co. 0.92 http://www.american-transit.com/
32 Westfield Insurance 0.92 http://www.westfieldinsurance.com/
33 James River Group Hldgs Ltd. 0.85 http://www.jamesriverins.com/
34 IAT Insurance 0.82 https://www.iatinsurancegroup.com/
35 United Fire Group Inc. 0.76 http://www.unitedfiregroup.com/
36 Arch Capital 0.72 https://mi.archcapgroup.com/
37 Atlas Financial Holdings Inc. 0.71 http://www.atlas-fin.com/
38 Munich Re 0.7 http://www.munichre.com/
39 State Auto Insurance Cos. 0.66 http://www.stateauto.com/
40 Hallmark Financial Services 0.65 http://www.hallmarkgrp.com/
41 Lancer 0.64 http://www.lancerinsurance.com/
42 Kemper Corp. 0.6 http://www.kemper.com/
43 Canal Insurance Co. 0.58 http://canalinsurance.com/
44 Baldwin & Lyons, Inc. 0.57 http://ir.protectiveinsurance.com/
45 FCCI 0.56 http://www.fcci-group.com/
46 MAPFRE SA 0.55 https://www.mapfreinsurance.com/
47 XL 0.54 http://xlcatlin.com/
48 Motors Insurance Corp. 0.52 n/a
49 Mercury General Corp. 0.49 http://www.mercuryinsurance.com/
50 Utica National Insurance Group 0.47 http://www.uticanational.com/
Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence. Market share is based on direct premiums written in 2017 for commercial auto.