Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Required auto insurance in Indiana
Indiana requires only one type of auto insurance: Liability. But you may want more liability insurance than the minimum, along with additional auto insurance types. Let's look at what's available so you can make a good choice.
Minimum liability insurance:
Liability insurance pays for the damage you do to others, up to the amounts you choose, known as "limits." In Indiana, car owners must buy liability insurance of at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident*
*After July 1, 2018. Prior to this date, the property-damage liability minimum was $10,000.
This is often written as 25/50/25.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage:
- Indiana does not require UM/UIM. Insurance companies must offer it but you can reject it in writing. These coverage types pay for injuries to you and your passengers if you're hit by someone who has no liability insurance or not enough.
- In Indiana you can also buy a type of UM called uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage. This pays for your car damage if you're hit by an uninsured driver. If you have collision insurance you probably don't need UMPD.
Other insurance to consider
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage: MedPay is available in Indiana but not required. It covers medical bills and funeral expenses for those injured while riding in or driving your car. It pays out no matter who was at fault. It also covers you if you're hit by a vehicle while walking.
Comprehensive coverage: Not required by Indiana, but if you have a car loan or lease you probably are required to have it. Comprehensive insurance covers the theft of your car or damage caused by hitting an animal, fire, vandalism, hail, flood, falling objects (such as trees that hit your car) and explosions.
Collision coverage: Not required by Indiana, but if you have a car loan or lease you probably are required to have it. Collision insurance is for damage to your vehicle caused by hitting another car or an object, such as a tree or sign post.
Rental reimbursement: Not required. This pays a certain amount for a rental car if your car is being fixed due to an accident.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Indiana
- First offense: Court may suspend the driver's license and/or registration for 90 days to one year
- Subsequent offense within five years: suspension of driver's license for one year or more
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Consumer complaints against the largest auto insurance companies in Indiana
The department of insurance in each state handles complaints against insurance companies that operate in the state. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners calculates a national "complaint ratio." This shows the number of complaints relative to a company's size. Here are complaint ratios for the largest car insurance companies in Indiana.
Updated July 12, 2018