Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
General Montana Insurance Guidelines
Montana currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle. Montana drivers are required to show their insurance info when requested by an officer.
Minimum Liability Coverage in Montana
Montana's minimum liability car insurance amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 total property damage per accident.
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
Compare: Car insurance quotes
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in Montana are:
- Misdemeanor, first offense punished with fines from $250-$500
- Also, can be put in county jail for 10 days
- 5 points on license
- Second time: $350+ fine, jailed up to 10 days, and automatic license suspension for 90 days from violation
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Montana does not require UM/UIM coverage.
Some states have no-fault laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Montana is not a no-fault insurance state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Montana does not require drivers to purchase PIP insurance.
SR-22 Requirements for Montana
An SR-22 insurance form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Montana requires an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
Montana DUI Laws
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver's licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for Montana are:
- 1 day to 6 months imprisonment
- 2 days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 in vehicle
- $300–$1,000 fine
- $600–$2,000 fine in minor under 16 in vehicle
- 6-month license suspension
- Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device
- Possible restricted license
Additional Information on Insurance for Montana
For more information, please contact Montana Insurance Commissioner's office: 1-406-444-2040 or visit their website at www.sao.mt.gov.
Be the best driver in Montana: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!