Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Minimum car insurance in Arizona
Minimum liability insurance in Arizona:
Liability coverage is essential insurance because it pays out for damage and injuries you cause, up to the limits you choose. Keep in mind that you're still responsible for car accident bills that are above your insurance limits. So while you can save money by buying only the Arizona minimum car insurance, you could be sued if it's not enough.
- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage per accident
This is often written as 15/30/10.
Minimum uninsured (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage:
If you're hit by a driver who doesn't have any liability insurance or not enough, you can tap your UM or UIM coverage for injury bills.
- In Arizona, insurance companies must offer UM and UIM but you can reject them. If you choose UM you must buy limits of at least 15/30 (that's $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident). If you buy UIM the limits must match your liability bodily injury amounts.
Optional car insurance types in Arizona
Comprehensive coverage: For theft of your vehicle or damage from hail, flood, fire, vandalism, falling objects, explosions or hitting an animal.
Collision coverage: For damage to your car from hitting another car or an object, like a tree.
Personal injury protection (PIP) & medical payments (MedPay): Both of these coverage types pay for injuries to you and your passengers. PIP can also cover lost wages if you can't work, services you can't perform (such as house cleaning) and funeral expenses.
There are usually additional coverage types to choose from such as rental reimbursement and towing.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Arizona if:
- Law enforcement requests it
- Your vehicle is involved in a car accident
Penalties for not having car insurance in Arizona
- First offense: $500 fine and possible three-month license suspension
- Second offense (within 36 months): $750 fine and possible six-month license suspension
- Third offense (within 36 months): $1,000 fine and possible one-year license suspension
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Consumer complaints against the largest auto insurance companies in Arizona
Each state's department of insurance collects complaints against insurance companies that operate in the state and supplies the numbers to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. A national "complaint ratio" number is meant to show the number of complaints against a company relative to the insurer's size of business. Shown below are national complaint ratios for the largest auto insurance companies in Arizona.
Updated June 11, 2018
Find an Arizona auto insurance agent
Apache Junction Car Insurance | Buckeye Car Insurance | Bullhead City Car Insurance | Camp Verde Car Insurance | Casa Grande Car Insurance | Chino Valley Car Insurance | Coolidge Car Insurance | Cottonwood Car Insurance | Douglas Car Insurance | El Mirage Car Insurance | Eloy Car Insurance | Flagstaff Car Insurance | Florence Car Insurance | Fountain Hills Car Insurance | Globe Car Insurance | Goodyear Car Insurance | Kingman Car Insurance | Lake Havasu City Car Insurance | Marana Car Insurance | Maricopa Car Insurance | Nogales Car Insurance | Page Car Insurance | Paradise Valley Car Insurance | Parker Car Insurance | Payson Car Insurance | Prescott Car Insurance | Prescott Valley Car Insurance | Queen Creek Car Insurance | Safford Car Insurance | Sahuarita Car Insurance | San Luis Car Insurance | Sedona Car Insurance | Show Low Car Insurance | Sierra Vista Car Insurance | Snowflake Car Insurance | Somerton Car Insurance | Tolleson Car Insurance | Wickenburg Car Insurance | Winslow Car Insurance | Youngtown Car Insurance | Yuma Car Insurance