Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
General Oregon Insurance Guidelines
Oregon currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle.
Minimum Liability Coverage in Oregon
Oregon's minimum liability auto insurance amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $20,000 total property damage per accident.
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without car insurance in Oregon are:
- Fines, suspension of driving privileges and impounding of car
- If a judge convicts you of driving uninsured, you will have to file proof of financial responsibility with the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) for 3 years or face suspension of your license
- This is in addition to any fines you must pay
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Oregon requires UM/UIM coverage. The minimum UM/UIM coverage amounts for Oregon are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident minimum.
Some states have no-fault insurance laws where a policyholder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Oregon is not a no-fault state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is type of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Oregon requires drivers to purchase PIP insurance. The minimum PIP coverage amounts for Oregon are that PIP coverage allows drivers and passengers, regardless of who caused an accident, to have insurance coverage for "reasonable and necessary" medical, dental, hospital, surgical, ambulance, and prosthetic services incurred within one year after the date of an injury up to a maximum of $15,000. In Oregon, minimum PIP benefits include the below coverage:
- Medical services: Treatment is considered reasonable and necessary unless a provider receives a denial notice within 60 calendar days of claim notice. After that, the burden of proving that treatment was not reasonable and necessary is on the insurance company.
- Loss of earnings: This benefit is available if your injury prevents you from returning to work. It begins on the 14th day of your disability. You receive up to 70 percent of wages up to a maximum benefit of $3,000 a month for 52 weeks.
- Essential services: If you are not employed, you are entitled to reimbursement of reasonably incurred expenses for the essential services that you would normally perform. You will receive up to $30 a day for up to 52 weeks. This benefit begins on the 14th day of disability.
- Funeral expenses: You will be paid for reasonable and necessary funeral expenses within one year of the date of injury up to a maximum benefit of $5,000. Oregon law and your insurance policy allow PIP benefit disputes to be resolved by arbitration as long as both parties agree at the time of the dispute. Know your PIP limit. Review this coverage carefully and consider raising your limit.
SR-22 Requirements for Oregon
An SR-22 insurance form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Oregon requires an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
Oregon DUI Laws
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver's licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for Oregon are:
- Minimum 2 days to 1-year imprisonment or 80 hours community service
- Minimum $1,000 fine
- Minimum $2,000 fine if BAC is equal to or greater than 0.15%
- Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
- $300 other DUI fees
- 1-year license suspension
- Ignition interlock required for 1 year
- Completion of drug and alcohol treatment program
- Required participation in Victim Impact Panel program
- Possible DUI diversion program
Additional Information on Insurance for Oregon
For more information, please contact Oregon Insurance Division: 1-888-877-4894 or visit their website at oregon.gov.
Be the best driver in Oregon: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!
- Find cheap car insurance
- Full coverage car insurance: Explanation and prices
- Collision and comprehensive insurance