Registration renewal notices are mailed to each vehicle owner about 6 to 8 weeks before the vehicle's registration expiration date. The vehicle owner may renew any time during the two months before the expiration month and during the expiration month.

Renewing Online

Renewing online is the easiest way to renew your registration.  

You must meet certain eligibility requirements:

  • You are renewing it within the following period of time: 90 days before the expiration and up to 6 months after the expiration date.
  • You have not received a citation for an expired registration.
  • Your country is supposed by the online registration process.
  • You have an active email account.
  • You have at least the minimum liability insurance required by Texas law.
  • Your vehicle has a current passing safety inspection if the particular vehicle law is required to have annual safety inspections.
  • You are prepared to pay online with a valid credit card of either VISA, Mastercard, American Express or Discover.
  • The total gross vehicle weight is less than 55,000 pounds.

Visit the Online Renewal Site to complete your renewal.  

Renew by Postal Mail

To register by postal mail, you must have received a renewal notice in the mail.  Send your county tax office back the following:

  • The renewal notice—be sure to keep the vehicle owner's section for your own personal records.
  • Proof of current liability insurance that meets Texas law minimums.
  • All appropriate fees as detailed on the renewal notice, plus a $1 mail-in fee.

Renew In Person

When renewing in person, you should bring the following to your local county tax office:

  • Your renewal notice or information that identifies your ownership of the car such as
    • License plate number
    • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
    • Registration receipt from previous year
  • Proof of current liability insurance that meets Texas law minimums.

Some counties may also allow you to renew at substations or subcontractors.  Forms of payment vary by county.

Renewal Without the Registration Renewal Notice

You are still responsible for renewing your registration on time whether or not you have received the notice in the mail.  If you are eligible, you can register online without the notice.  Otherwise, you will need to visit your county tax office to renew.  You will need to bring proof of ownership or other information such as the license plate number, the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or last year's registration receipt.

Texas DMV Email Reminders (eReminder)

The Texas DMV has an online email reminder system called eReminder.  When you sign up for this, you will receive a reminder by email when your registration is about to expire.  Don't worry, you'll still get a renewal notice in the postal mail. This can be very helpful since not only do they send you a reminder about 3 weeks before the expiration, they will also send you a follow-up email approximately one week after if you haven't renewed yet.

Just visit eReminder and provide your license plate number, the last 4 digits of your VIN and your email address.


For details about any registration matter, you can read the Texas Motor Vehicle Registration Manual.