Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Average Missouri premiums by company
Click to see reviews
Average yearly premium in Missouri
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
|American Family Insurance||
|USAA (must have a military affiliation)||
Insurance increase after a speeding ticket
Missouri drivers who get a speeding ticket end up paying an average insurance increase of 30%, higher than the nationwide average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Speeding ticket||% increase|
Insurance increase after an accident
Missouri drivers who caused an accident saw an average insurance increase of 47%, much higher than the national average increase. This makes Missouri one of the most expensive places for insurance increases after a speeding ticket.
|State||Clean driving record||Chargeable accident, no injury||% increase|
Average auto insurance premiums in Missouri cities
St. Louis drivers pay the most for auto insurance among the Missouri cities we analyzed.
Average annual premium
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
Penalties for not having auto insurance in Missouri
- Violation is punishable as a class D misdemeanor, which carries a fine up to $500.
- Subsequent violation is punishable by a fine up to $500, 15 days in jail, or both.
- Knowingly or intentionally possessing a fraudulent insurance identification card. (including mobile images) is a class B misdemeanor (punishable up to 6 months imprisonment).
- Producing or otherwise distributing a fraudulent insurance ID card, including an image displayed on a mobile electronic device, is a class E felony punishable by up to four years imprisonment.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Aug. 26, 2019