Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Motor vehicle owners and lessees in this state are required to maintain continuous mandatory liability car insurance coverage on their vehicle(s) to:
- Legally drive the vehicle(s).
- Register and obtain Georgia license plates (tags).
- Renew, replace or transfer their existing Georgia license plates (tags).
Minimum Insurance Requirements
The minimum limits of liability required under Georgia law are:
- Bodily Injury Liability of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per occurrence
- Property Damage Liability of $25,000 per occurrence
Liability insurance is insurance that pays damages to others, on behalf of the insured, for injury to or damaged property of others up to the policy limit. This insurance covers the damages an insured may have caused by his negligence or may protect him against claims made against him by someone who alleges he was at-fault.
Physical Damage insurance is insurance to pay for loss or damage to your own vehicle. Physical Damage insurance consists of two types. The first part which pays for theft, vandalism and fire type losses is referred to as either “comprehensive” or “other than collision coverage.” The second part is “collision” coverage.
Physical Damage coverage is not required by state law but is usually required by the lender (bank or finance company) if there is a loan on the vehicle or by the leasing company if it is leased. An insured can file a claim under his own Physical Damage coverage even if someone else may have caused the accident.
Uninsured Motorist insurance may also be included on a policy. Although Georgia requires all drivers to have liability insurance to drive, there are unfortunately those that either do not obey the law or may have unknowingly allowed their insurance to cancel. Uninsured Motorist would protect you when that other uninsured driver causes an accident which damages your vehicle or injures you or your passengers. This coverage is for the protection of the policyholder's loss or damages inflicted in that accident.
For more information, please visit http://www.oci.ga.gov/consumerservice/autoinsurance.aspx
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Georgia does not require UM/UIM coverage.
Some states have “No-Fault” laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Georgia is not a “No-Fault” state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Georgia does not require drivers to purchase PIP insurance.
SR-22 Requirements for Georgia
An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Georgia requires an SR-22 filing for a driver’s license reinstatement.
Insurance Policy Information Cards
Your insurer is required by law to issue you, "their insured", an insurance policy information card for each vehicle they insure. Your insurance policy information card must be carried in your vehicle at all times when the vehicle is driven, even now when insurance cards are no longer acceptable proof of insurance, for all vehicles except:
- Vehicles registered in Georgia under the International Registration Plan (IRP).
- Self-insured vehicles.
- Vehicles insured under a fleet insurance policy.
If you allow someone else to drive your vehicle, you must provide the driver with acceptable proof of insurance coverage and your valid insurance policy information card.
Penalties and Fines in Georgia for Driving Without Car Insurance
Georgia law requires a vehicle to be continuously insured. It must be insured to be legally driven. It must be insured to register and obtain Georgia license plates. Insurance companies are required to send notification to the Georgia Department of Revenue when insurance is terminated and also when insurance coverage begins.
Lapse in Coverage
If there is a lapse in coverage of 10 or more days before new coverage begins, then a lapse fee of $25 must be paid. The vehicle owner should be notified by letter. If the fee is not paid within 30 days of the letter's date, the registration will be suspended. If this is the first occurrence, then you must pay both the lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee to cancel the suspension. There are special circumstances where you may cancel your registration to avoid the suspension and other fees. Read here for more details.
The fees and suspension periods increase if this is not the first occurrence within a 5-year period.
For More Information
- Consumer Services 404-656-2070
- Toll-Free 800-656-2298
- Arson Hotline 800-282-5804
- Fraud Hotline 800-656-2298
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org