Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
General Louisiana Insurance Guidelines
Louisiana currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance with coverage level based on the weight of their vehicle. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle. Louisiana drivers are required to show their insurance info when stopped for a traffic violation.
Minimum Liability Coverage in Louisiana
Louisiana's minimum liability car insurance amounts are as follows:
- $15,000 bodily injury per person.
- $30,000 total bodily injury per accident.
- $25,000 total property damage per accident.
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits do not often keep pace with the ever-increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalty for no car insurance in Louisiana is:
- Plates are removed and offender has 3 days to present proof to OMV
- If proof is not presented, plates are destroyed and need to re-register vehicle.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Louisiana does not require UM/UIM coverage.
Some states have no-fault insurance laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Louisiana is not a no-fault state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Louisiana does not require drivers to purchase PIP insurance.
SR-22 Requirements for Louisiana
An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Louisiana requires an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
Louisiana DUI Laws
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver's licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for Louisiana are:
- Up to 6 months imprisonment
- $1000 fine
- 90-day license suspension
- 6-month license suspension of driver under 21
More: DUI car insurance
Additional Information on Insurance for Louisiana
For more information, please contact Louisiana Department of Insurance: 1-800-259-5300 or visit their website at www.ldi.state.la.us.
Be the best driver in Louisiana: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!
Chalmette Car Insurance | Gretna Car Insurance | Hammond Car Insurance | Harvey Car Insurance | Houma Car Insurance | LaPlace Car Insurance | Marrero Car Insurance | Natchitoches Car Insurance | New Iberia Car Insurance | Opelousas Car Insurance | Prairieville Car Insurance | Ruston Car Insurance | Slidell Car Insurance | Sulphur Car Insurance