Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
General New York Insurance Guidelines
The state of New York currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle.
Minimum Liability Coverage in New York
The state of New York minimum liability car insurance amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in New York are:
- Suspension of registration and license, as well as monetary penalties
- If in an accident and uninsured, registration will be revoked for 1 year minimum
- This will result in a traffic court fine of $1,500, and a $750 civil penalty
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. New York requires UM/UIM coverage. The minimum UM/UIM coverage amounts for New York are in line with the state's bodily injury liability limits.
Some states have no-fault laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. New York is a no-fault state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Some states have Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. New York requires drivers to purchase PIP insurance. The minimum PIP coverage amounts for New York are $50,000 per person per accident and covers the following:
- Accident related medical and rehabilitation expenses
- 80% of lost earnings from work, up to a maximum of $2,000/month for up to 3 years from date of accident. Subject to statuatory offsets for NY State Disability, Worker's Compensation and Federal Social Security disability benefits.
- Up to $25/day for up to 1 year from date of accident, to reimburse other reasonable expenses (household help, transportation to/from medical treatment) due to accident.
- A $2,000 death benefit, payable to the estate of a person eligible for no-fault benefits who is killed in an accident.
SR-22 Requirements for New York
An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. New York does not require an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
New York DUI Laws
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for New York are:
- Class "E" felony if minor under 16 in vehicle
- Up to 1 year imprisonment, up to 4 years if minor under 16 in vehicle
- $500 - $1,000 fine, up to $5,000 if minor under 16 in vehicle
- Minimum 6 months license suspension
- Mandatory surcharge
- Mandatory alcohol screening/evaluation
- Possible ignition interlock
- Possible driver responsibility assessment
Additional Information on Insurance for New York
For more information, please contact New York State Insurance Department: 1-800-342-3736 or visit their website at dfs.ny.gov.
Be the best driver in New York: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!
Amsterdam Car Insurance | Auburn Car Insurance | Batavia Car Insurance | Beacon Car Insurance | Binghamton Car Insurance | Canandaigua Car Insurance | Cohoes Car Insurance | Corning Car Insurance | Cortland Car Insurance | Dunkirk Car Insurance | Elmira Car Insurance | Fulton Car Insurance | Geneva Car Insurance | Glen Cove Car Insurance | Glens Falls Car Insurance | Gloversville Car Insurance | Hempstead Car Insurance | Ithaca Car Insurance | Jamestown Car Insurance | Kingston Car Insurance | Lockport Car Insurance | Long Beach Car Insurance | Middletown Car Insurance | Newburgh Car Insurance | Niagara Falls Car Insurance | North Tonawanda Car Insurance | Ogdensburg Car Insurance | Olean Car Insurance | Oneida Car Insurance | Oneonta Car Insurance | Oswego Car Insurance | Peekskill Car Insurance | Plattsburgh Car Insurance | Poughkeepsie Car Insurance | Rome Car Insurance | Rye Car Insurance | Saratoga Springs Car Insurance | Tonawanda Car Insurance | Troy Car Insurance | Watertown Car Insurance | White Plains Car Insurance