The average insurance increase after a speeding ticket is 26% nationwide. These increases are called surcharges and typically last for three to five years. After that, your car insurance rates should go back down, assuming you haven't had additional "chargeable" problems such as accidents or more tickets. You will likely also get a speeding-ticket fine from your state. If you're a repeat offender or were going extremely fast, you might get a suspension of your license.

Drivers in Arkansas, California, Nebraska and West Virginia will likely suffer the biggest rate hikes, with an insurance increase after a speeding ticket of more than one-third.

We looked at rates reported by EverQuote users who had a speeding ticket (but no other violations) and compared those to rates reported by users with good driving records. Those with clean records had an average monthly payment of $122. Drivers with a speeding ticket had average monthly payments of $150.

Your insurance agent can tell you how long a surcharge will last. Rate increases will vary by state and insurance company. That's why it's important to shop around if you're looking for cheap car insurance.

How much insurance goes up after a speeding ticket

State Increase after speeding ticket
West Virginia 40%
California 35%
Arkansas 35%
Nebraska 35%
Wisconsin 31%
Arizona 30%
Massachusetts 29%
Texas 28%
Washington 28%
Oregon 28%
Kansas 28%
Rhode Island 28%
Ohio 27%
Indiana 27%
Tennessee 27%
Minnesota 27%
Connecticut 27%
Colorado 26%
South Carolina 25%
North Carolina 25%
Nevada 25%
Mississippi 25%
New Mexico 25%
Virgina 24%
Alabama 24%
Utah 24%
Georgia 23%
Louisiana 23%
Kentucky 23%
Florida 21%
Missouri 21%
Pennsylvania 20%
Illinois 20%
Oklahoma 20%
Michigan 19%
New Jersey 19%
Idaho 16%
Maryland 15%
New York 14%
Iowa 12%
Delaware 8%
Source: EverQuote, based on user-reported reported premiums for policies with liability amounts of 100/300/50, collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist coverage. Your own rates will be different. There was not enough data available for Hawaii, Maine, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming.

Many states will reduce or drop the points on a driving record if you complete a state-approved driving class. If this option is available it's the smart thing to do. Your DMV will have information on whether you're eligible and how to sign up for an approved class.

How insurers find out about speeding tickets

Auto insurance companies typically pull your motor vehicle record at renewal time. So if you have a 12-month policy that just renewed, you have almost a year before your insurer sees the speeding ticket and increases your rates.

If you're shopping for a new auto insurer, companies will always pull your driving record and they'll see the speeding ticket. But having a speeding ticket shouldn't stop you from comparing rates. The insurer that offered you a good deal with a clean driving record may no longer be among the cheapest after a ticket.

If you rack up a lot of tickets you may end up having to buy coverage from a high-risk car insurance company.