Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Finding cheap Kansas car insurance
If you're looking for cheap car insurance in Kansas, we're here to help. We've analyzed average premiums reported by EverQuote users so you can see how insurance costs compare for Kansas drivers. (See methodology at the bottom of the page.)
Kansas insurance vs. the U.S. average
Average insurance premiums paid by Kansas drivers with good records are less than the national average:
- $1,533/year Kansas average.
- $1,684/year national average.
Average Kansas insurance premiums by company
Average annual premium in Kansas
|American Family Insurance||
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
Insurance increases in Kansas after a speeding ticket
Kansas drivers who got a speeding ticket saw an average insurance increase of 34%, higher than the national average increase.
|State||Annual premium with clean driving record||Annual premium with speeding ticket||% increase|
Average premiums in Kansas cities
|City||Average annual premium|
How to find cheap Kansas auto insurance
- Compare auto insurance quotes from multiple insurance companies.
- Keep a good driving record. Try to avoid car accidents, tickets and insurance claims.
- Ask your insurance agent to review all the possible car insurance discounts.
- Increase the deductible on comprehensive and collision coverage, if you buy them.
- Buy renters or homeowners insurance from your auto insurance company to get a "bundling" discount.
Required car insurance in Kansas
Kansas requires three types of auto insurance: Liability, uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. But you may want more insurance than the state requires. Let's look at what's available.
Auto liability insurance pays for damage and injuries you cause to others. It's the foundation for auto insurance policies. If you don't have enough liability insurance you could still be sued for remaining accidents bills.
Minimum liability insurance in Kansas:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
This is known as 25/50/25.
Minimum uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage:
- Kansas requires drivers to have UM/UIM coverage. This insurance pays your medical bills if you're hit by someone with little or no auto insurance. Insurance companies must first offer you UM/UIM at limits matching your liability amounts. You can reject that, but you must buy at least $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident (25/50).
Minimum personal injury protection (PIP) in Kansas
Kansas has a no-fault insurance system. That means you'll make small injury claims on your own auto insurance policy, no matter who was at fault. You must buy personal injury protection (PIP) in Kansas, which pays these claims.
The minimum PIP coverage in Kansas is:
- $4,500/person for medical expenses
- $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
- $25/day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
- Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
- In-home services up to $25/day for one year
More: No-fault insurance
Comprehensive and collision coverage:
- These are not required by the state, but if you have a car loan or lease you are probably required to buy them. Comprehensive and collision coverage pay for damage to your own vehicle and car theft. The damage causes they cover include hail, floods, fire and crashes with other cars and animals.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Kansas when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
Penalties for not having car insurance in Kansas
- First offense: Fine from $300 to $1,000, jail for six months, or both
- Subsequent within three years: Fine from $800-$2,500
- May also suspend license and registration
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Complaints against auto insurance companies in Kansas
All state departments of insurance collect complaints against insurance companies. Shown below are national complaint ratios for the largest car insurance companies in Kansas. The ratios show the level of complaints relative to an insurer's size.
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Feb. 27, 2019
Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Find a Kansas auto insurance agent
Dodge City Car Insurance | Hutchinson Car Insurance | Kansas City Car Insurance | Lawrence Car Insurance | Leavenworth Car Insurance | Manhattan Car Insurance | Olathe Car Insurance | Salina Car Insurance | Topeka Car Insurance | Wichita Car Insurance | Derby Car Insurance | Emporia Car Insurance | Garden City Car Insurance | Hays Car Insurance | Junction City Car Insurance