Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Average Alabama auto insurance premiums by company
(click for reviews)
Average annual premium in Alabama
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
Insurance increase after a speeding ticket
Alabama drivers who get a speeding ticket see an average insurance increase of 31%.
|State||Clean driving record||Speeding ticket||% increase|
Average insurance premiums in Alabama cities
|City||Average annual premium|
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Alabama when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
- Your vehicle is involved in a car accident
Penalties for not having auto insurance in Alabama
Operating a vehicle without the minimum insurance results in a license suspension:
- First violation: the department will terminate the suspension upon payment by the owner of a $200 reinstatement fee
- Second or subsequent violation within the preceding four years will result in suspension for four months and a $400 reinstatement fee
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America.
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Aug. 20, 2019