Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Average Pennsylvania auto insurance premiums by company
Click to see reviews
Average yearly premium in Pennsylvania
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
|USAA (must have a military affiliation to apply)||
Insurance increase after a speeding ticket
Pennsylvania drivers who get a speeding ticket pay an average insurance increase of 20%, which is less than the nationwide average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Speeding ticket||% increase|
Insurance increase after an accident
Pennsylvania drivers who cause an accident get an average insurance increase of 39%, slightly higher than the national average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Chargeable accident, no injury||% increase|
Average premiums in Pennsylvania cities
Car owners in Lansdowne, near Philadelphia, are paying the most for auto insurance among the Pennsylvania cities in our rates survey.
Average annual premium
No-fault insurance in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania requires personal injury protection (PIP). The state uses a no-fault insurance system. That means you make small injury claims on your own policy, no matter who caused the accident. PIP pays these claims.
You must buy at least $5,000 in PIP. In Pennsylvania, drivers also choose between "limited tort" and "full tort" policies. "Limited tort" will cost less. This choice affects your right to sue after a car accident. Here's a quick summary:
- Limited tort: You can sue someone medical bills and other out-of-pocket expenses. But you can't sue for pain and suffering unless the injuries meet the definition of "serious injury." Pennsylvania law defines "serious injury" as: A personal injury resulting in death, serious impairment of body function or permanent serious disfigurement.
- Full tort: You can sue someone for medical bills, pain and suffering and other non-monetary damages.
Read more about no-fault insurance.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Pennsylvania when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
- Your vehicle is involved in a car accident
Penalties for not having car insurance in Pennsylvania
If you don't have liability insurance on your vehicle, you could face the following fines and penalties:
- A minimum fine of $300
- A three-month suspension of your driver's license
- A three-month suspension of your vehicle registration
Source: Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Aug. 21, 2019