Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Average Colorado auto insurance premiums by company
(click to see reviews)
Average annual premium in Colorado
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
|American Family Insurance||
Insurance increase after a speeding ticket
Colorado drivers with a speeding ticket pay 26% more than drivers with a clean record, the same as the national average.
|State||Clean driving record||Speeding ticket||% increase|
Insurance increase after an accident
Colorado drivers who caused an accident pay 32% more than those with a clean record, which is lower than the national average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Chargeable accident, no injury||% increase|
Average car insurance premiums in Colorado cities
Average annual premium
You must show your insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Colorado when:
- Law enforcement requests it
- You renew vehicle registration
- Your car is involved in an accident
Penalties for not having auto insurance in Colorado
- First offense: A minimum of a $500 fine
- Second offense within five years: $1,000 fee; potential imprisonment; potential minimum of 40 hours of community service
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Aug. 22, 2019