Fast, Free Auto Insurance Quotes
Average Tennessee insurance premiums by company
Click to see reviews
Average annual premium in Tennessee
|AAA Insurance/Auto Club||
|USAA (must have a military affiliation to apply)||
Insurance increases in Tennessee after a speeding ticket
Tennessee drivers who get a speeding ticket pay an average insurance increase of 25%, about the same as the nationwide average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Speeding ticket||% increase|
Insurance increases in Tennessee after an accident
Tennessee drivers who cause an accident get an average insurance increase of 41%, higher than the national average increase.
|State||Clean driving record||Chargeable accident, no injury||% increase|
Average premiums in Tennessee cities
Drivers in Memphis pay the most for auto insurance among the Tennessee cities we examined.
Average annual premium
Minimum car insurance requirements in Tennessee
Compared to many other states, Tennessee does not require a lot of car insurance. Only liability insurance is mandated. But liability insurance won't cover damage to your own car.
More insurance options in Tennessee
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage:
MedPay is not required in Tennessee, and if you have good health insurance you may not need it. MedPay covers medical bills and funeral expenses for anyone driving or riding in your car, no matter who caused the accident.
Comprehensive and collision coverage:
These are not required by Tennessee. However, if you have a car loan or lease you are likely required to have them by the loan or leasing company. These cover: the theft of your vehicle, damage caused by hitting another car or an animal, and damage from hail, flood, fire, vandalism, falling objects and explosions.
Rental reimbursement coverage:
This pays for a rental if your vehicle is being repaired due to an accident. It usually has limits for a daily maximum and also a total limit. If you rent a more expensive car you'll need to pay the difference.
You must show an insurance ID card (or other proof of financial responsibility) in Tennessee when:
- Law enforcement requests it.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Tennessee
- Class C misdemeanor, up to a $300 fine.
- Class A misdemeanor if you're not in compliance with Tennessee financial responsibility laws and involved in accident resulting in bodily injury or death you were at fault for the accident.
Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Rates methodology: EverQuote analyzed premiums reported by our users. Premiums are based on policies with liability of 100/300/50 ($100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 bodily injury per accident, $50,000 property damage) and uninsured motorist coverage of 100/300 ($100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident). We used premiums collected between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2018. Your own rates will be different.
Updated Sept. 3, 2019