There are dozens of auto insurance companies in the U.S., so you have ample choices when you want to buy car insurance. Below is a list of car insurance companies in the top 50 for market share, with websites and the location of headquarters. Remember that not all auto insurance companies operate in every state.

List of car insurance companies & websites

Rank Company Website Headquarters
1 State Farm www.statefarm.com Bloomington, IL
2 Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (Geico) www.geico.com Omaha, NE
3 Progressive www.progressive.com Mayfield, OH
4 Allstate Corp. www.allstate.com Northbrook, IL
5 USAA www.usaa.com San Antonio, TX
6 Liberty Mutual www.libertymutual.com Boston, MA
7 Farmers Insurance Group www.farmers.com Woodland Hills, CA
8 Nationwide Mutual Group www.nationwide.com Columbus, OH
9 Travelers Cos. www.travelers.com Saint Paul, MN
10 American Family Insurance Group www.amfam.com Madison, WI
11 Auto Club Exchange www.aaa.com Costa Mesa, CA
12 Erie Insurance www.erieinsurance.com Erie, PA
13 CSAA Insurance Exchange http://csaa-insurance.aaa.com Walnut Creek, CA
14 National General Holdings Corp. www.nationalgeneral.com New York, NY
15 Mercury General Corp. www.mercuryinsurance.com Los Angeles, CA
16 Auto-Owners Insurance www.auto-owners.com Lansing, MI
17 MetLife www.metlife.com New York, NY
18 Hartford Financial Services www.thehartford.com Hartford, CT
19 Auto Club Insurance Association www.aaa.com Dearborn, MI
20 MAPFRE www.mapfreinsurance.com Webster, MA
21 Kemper Corp. www.kemper.com Chicago, IL
22 Amica Mutual Insurance Co. www.amica.com Lincoln, RI
23 Infinity P&C Corp. www.infinityauto.com Birmingham, AL
24 COUNTRY Financial www.countryfinancial.com Bloomington, IL
25 Hanover Insurance Group www.hanover.com Worcester, MA
26 NJM Insurance www.njm.com West Trenton, NJ
27 Southern Farm Bureau Casualty www.sfbcic.com Ridgeland, MS
28 Sentry Insurance www.sentry.com Stevens Point, WI
29 Shelter Insurance www.shelterinsurance.com Columbia, MO
30 Alfa Mutual Group www.alfainsurance.com Montgomery, AL
31 Ameriprise Financial www.ameriprise.com Minneapolis, MN
32 Chubb Ltd. www2.chubb.com Whitehouse Station, NJ
33 Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Cos. www.txfb-ins.com Waco, TX
34 Tennessee Farmers Insurance Cos. www.fbitn.com Columbia, TN
35 Cincinnati Financial Corp. www.cinfin.com Fairfield, OH
36 Plymouth Rock of New Jersey www.plymouthrock.com Red Bank, NJ
37 Grange Mutual Casualty Co. www.grangeinsurance.com Columbus, OH
38 Kentucky Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. www.kyfb.com Louisville, KY
39 North Carolina Farm Bureau Insurance www.ncfbins.com Raleigh, NC
40 State Auto Insurance Cos. www.stateauto.com Columbus, OH
41 Farm Bureau Financial Services www.fbfs.com West Des Moines, IA
42 Loya Insurance www.fredloya.com El Paso, TX
43 American National Insurance www.americannational.com Galveston, TX
44 Safety Insurance Group Inc. www.safetyinsurance.com Boston, MA
45 Horace Mann Educators Corp. www.horacemann.com Springfield, IL
46 Markel Corp. www.markelinsurance.com Glen Allen, VA
47 Arbella Insurance www.arbella.com Quincy, MA
48 Michigan Farm Bureau www.farmbureauinsurance-mi.com Lansing, MI
49 Westfield Insurance www.westfieldinsurance.com Westfield Center, OH
50 Plymouth Rock Co. www.plymouthrock.com Boston, MA
Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence